Under the headship of Jesus Christ and the guidance of the Holy Spirit, elders lead New Braunfels Bible Church.  The Holy Spirit is the instrument through which a man becomes an elder (Acts 20:28), developing the spiritual disciplines and capacity required for the office.  Elders at NBBC are recognized based on the qualifications and functions of an elder found in New Testament passages like 1 Timothy 3, Titus 1, and 1 Peter 5.  Elders are “shepherds” (pastors) who guard the flock from ‘savage wolves’ (Acts 20:29) who seek to divide the flock, and care for the needs of believers by teaching truth, and guiding the ministries of the church in light of the teachings of Scripture.

Deacons are recognized based on the qualifications and functions of a deacon reflected in Acts 6 and 1 Timothy 3.  They make the practical needs of the body their concern.  In particular, they administer the Benevolence Fund of NBBC, organize and lead various projects to help the ministries of the church function well, and involve themselves in practical service roles for the body.

For 2019, the elders of NBBC are:

Robert Ambs, Chairman

Gary Armstrong

Ray Clinton

Phil Congdon


Daniel Mitchell

For 2019, the deacons of NBBC are:

Peterson, Brian3

Brian Peterson, Chairman

Robert Compton

Aaron King

Alan Mosley


Sherman Stryker

Steve White

Danny Woodward

Wynn Rick

Rick Wynn